Swaddle Blanket

Since I’ve been in the garden I haven’t had much time for sewing. With a co-workers approaching baby shower, I decided to make a swaddle blanket. I’ve always wanted to sew with gauze and have seen tutorials on double gauze swaddle blankets. The gauze I purchased came with self binding instructions, but this tutorial by Purl SohoΒ gives you the same steps I followed to make my swaddle blanket.

I trimmed the edges to make the blanket even, but most tutorials will have you square the fabric for easy swaddling. Since I only trimmed, my blanket was rectangular in shape and slightly larger than most. You can easily fold it smaller and still swaddle baby or use the larger gauzy blanket as a nursing cover, stroller cover, tummy time blanket, and more! Such a perfect blanket for a summer time baby. Gauze is light, soft, and breathable. The double rolled hem was a breeze and the finished blanket was quick and simple to make.

Riley Blake gauzeSwaddle rolled hems_2bSwaddle rolled hemsBurlap Ribbon

Rolled up and finished with a burlap bow ❀

Fabric: Hedgerow Bouquet in Cream by Riley Blake Designs

6 thoughts on “Swaddle Blanket

Leave a Reply

