Butterfly Baby Quilt

I’ve just completed a couple of whole cloth baby quilts and today I’m excited to show you one of them! This baby quilt was made for a co-worker and we celebrated with her baby shower this past Thursday. It was so beautiful! They had a burlap runner over a white table cloth and little bunting banners with bunnies. Pink and gold balloons with dots and chevron prints flanked the table. The shower theme, and that of her nursery, was baby wildlife. I knew my quilt had the perfect print!

When planning for this quilt, I had heard she wanted bohemian-whimsical. She was also registered at Land of Nod, so when I saw this organic cotton print at Quilt Market, I knew it was the one! Whole cloth quilts are my new favorite go-to for baby showers. They are quick, easy to make, and have a modern touch. I had decided I wanted to match the cream found on the top as my color for the back. Luckily I found exactly that, a cream colored fabric with silver dots, and I decided to also use it on the binding. I love geometric prints for these, because they work as a guide for the quilting. I followed the dots on the back to quilt the lattice design and spaced my lines evenly.

zoom-detail-quiltingbutterfly-baby-quilt_1butterfly-baby-quilt_2detail-sparkle-dot-backlabelfolded-butterfly-quilt

As my co-worker looked into the bag she said, “Christina, you’re going to make me cry!”

I replied “Don’t cry, because then I will…” ❤

I’m off to another shower today, this time in the family. Hope to share with you my second whole cloth quilt soon!

5 thoughts on “Butterfly Baby Quilt

Leave a Reply

