Western Baby Quilt Complete!

This past weekend I completed the quilting, added hanging pockets, and sewed on the binding. My first commission was presented today and I received such wonderful feedback and gratitude 😀

Here’s the gorgeous fabric I used on the binding. Tooled Leather in Buckskin by Sarah Khammash for Moda Fabrics. Such a perfect finishing touch for a western themed quilt. It will surely add a soft touch to the nursery.

I created 7.5″ squares from the backing fabric and folded into HST. I caught the raw edge in the binding to create two top pockets for a rod or dowel to slide underneath for hanging.

For the quilting I added straight lines in the horizontal sashing and chevrons in the vertical sashing strips. I was really torn on the quilting for the blocks. I couldn’t easily stitch in the ditch since I opened all my seams and this was my original plan. Instead, I used matching thread to quilt a rectangle within the rectangles of each block. For the borders, I quilted a free motion wavy line with loops, reminiscent of a lasso.  With a light color thread in the bobbin and Ride ’em Cowboy in dark blue for the backing, you can really see the quilting design pop. I really enjoyed this effect and reminded me of a southwestern design.

western baby quiltwestern baby quilt 2quilting 2quiltingquilt backquilt stack

I wished I had been able to photograph this quilt in better lighting! I completed the quilt in the evening and only had my home’s warm lighting to take my photos. When possible I prefer using natural daylight 🙂

My next project will be to complete my Project Linus Quilt. I have another quick baby blanket to make; a simple, no quilting, blanket. I also want to make a new mug rug for my new desk at work…and the list continues…

8 thoughts on “Western Baby Quilt Complete!

Leave a Reply

