Western Baby Quilt

I was commissioned to make a baby quilt for a boy with a cowboy/western theme. Colors of choice are blues and browns. The requester wanted an option of hanging for the nursery and also wanted the initials somewhere on the quilt. She also wanted to keep it small, just in case mom-to-be decides on the hanging option. Baby is due in March, but I would like to have the quilt ready for a possible February baby shower. So really, my goal is to complete the quilt by the end of the month.

I decided on the Paul Pattern, found in the Fat Quarter Baby book. The design reminded me of spurs or wagon wheels…using some imagination here šŸ™‚ The size is perfect 36.5″x36.5″. Mom had located some cute western prints at her local fabric shops, so last weekend we got together to shop for fabric. At the first shop I found the border, background, and binding fabric. At the second shop I found the pops of color for the “spurs” and the fabric for the initials. At the third…I found some cute discount fabric for myself! My best friend Becky came along with us and both her and my mom found some project fabric they were needing too.

Mom was kind enough to help my cut all the little background squares…hundreds of them! This is when we realized how small these blocks actually turn out. We also cut the fabric needed from the four western prints that make up the “spurs”. Once I complete my blocks, I’ll cut the sashing and inner border.

I get home, ready to sew, and discovered…I needed to draw diagonals on the back of all of these squares (facepalm). I did about half the stack and decided to start sewing! I chain-pieced my way to completing 4 blocks using the stars by Wilmington Prints.

I hope to complete the remaining blocks this weekend and maybe even complete the top all together! Fingers crossed…stay tuned for more updates!

 

4 thoughts on “Western Baby Quilt

  1. Love your fabrics. Looks like it will be a very fun quilt and I bet they will love it. There is a thing you can put on your sewing machine bed to use instead of drawing all those lines. It is a seam guide but also has a line down the middle and if you keep your points on that line, your diagonals will be perfect without drawing. I don’t keep mine on the machine all the time, but make good use of it when I have lots of diagonal lines to stitch. It is called Seams Sew Easy and you can get it at the Fat Quarter Shop for $12.98. It’s well worth it. My beginner quilt students also use it to perfect their 1/4 seams.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yes, I will definitely check out Seams Sew Easy. Sounds very worth it since I’m no fan on drawing these lines! That little purple strip on my machine is currently my 1/4″ seam guide so this other one could serve me both purposes since I do like the guide. Thanks for the suggestion šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

