Quilt Along on Instagram

Have you ever joined a quilt along or swap on Instagram? Cheri Lehnow, @tinkerellen, is leading a #wonkystarsquiltalong and it should be lots of fun! I really shouldn’t start another WIP, but the guidelines for this quilt is so easy, I figure I can easily get a Christmas quilt completed through the support and inspiration of other quilters.

In 9 weeks, we will be making 9 – 16.5″ wonky star quilt blocks. This will make a nice throw-size quilt and can be made larger by adding sashing and borders if desired. Cheri’s original concept, which I believe she’s sticking to, is a Rainbow Wonky Star quilt using red, pink, orange, yellow, light green, dark green, light blue, dark blue, and purple with a low volume background. I was going to search my scraps and stash to see if I could follow along with the rainbow theme, but a couple of the instagrammers mentioned a Christmas quilt and I thought that sounded perfect for me!

Mom gifted me a variety of Moda Christmas fabrics from Kate Spain and Deb Strain. I have two colorways in each red, green, and white. These wonky stars may be a little busy, but I think a final touch of white sashing will help to tone it down 😀 The quilt along hasn’t started yet, so there’s still time if you want to join. This past week we gathered fabric, then posting block 1 this week. This weekend I’ll get all the fabric ironed out and have everything cut into 6″ squares. Stay tuned as I’ll post each block on both my Instagram and here on the blog!

Christmas Fabric

2 thoughts on “Quilt Along on Instagram

Leave a Reply

