My First Try at Hexies!

If I remember correctly, I think I was in my teens when I first saw English Paper Piecing (EPP), and thinking to myself that it looked too complicated. I didn’t even give it a try! Well, a decade later and inspiration from social media tools such as Pinterest and Instagram, I’ve decided to give it a go! Especially now that i have some sewing experience and understand the methods being used, it doesn’t seem so intimidating. While at the latest quilt show in my area, I picked up a package of 1″ EPP Hexagons and three Moda Candy mini charm packs. I know you can print and cut these little shapes out…but I don’t see myself taking the time out for that. I did see a scrapbook tool for cutting out shapes and I may go that route when I find myself needing more templates. For now, I have 100 pieces to get me started!

In one week I finished converting one mini charm pack into hexies! They are so much fun! I started with Rambling Rose by Sandy Gervais for Moda Fabrics. Vintage florals on beige, pink, blue, and brown pair nicely with our decorative tea pots around the house. I don’t have a specific plan in mind, but I really love an idea I found on Pinterest of adorned placemats. I like the idea of vertical hexies on linen, like this one.

With all the supplies that go into making Hexies, I used one layer of my craft container to keep me organized. In here I have my thread, scissors (I need smaller ones), paper hexies, mini charms, needle booklet, and of course paper clips (vs glue for holding your hexie in place).

Hexie Organization-Beige-

Beige Hexies Beige Hexies 1Beige Hexie Stack-Pink-

Pink Hexies -Blue-

Blue Hexies Blue Hexies 1-Brown-

Brown Hexies

Many thanks to the following tutorials that helped me through my first set of hexies. I’ll be returning to these when I’m ready to join them together. On the other hand, I may applique them to placemats, but either way, great references!

Bee in My Bonnet – Hexie Paper Piecing Tutorial

The Zen of Making – English Paper Piecing, Hexies Part 1

The Zen of Making – English Paper Piecing, Hexies Part 2

The Zen of Making – English Paper Piecing Travel Kit with Pincushion

Looks like I’m not the only one obsessed with hexies, here’s a great post from Wombat Quilts about her EPP adventures! I just read this before publishing my post πŸ™‚

For instant Hexie updates, follow me on Instagram — @petalsandpins

15 thoughts on “My First Try at Hexies!

    • You quickly go from 1 to 40! haha! All 3 mini charm packs I bought have the same theme and I think they would be lovely on placemats πŸ™‚ I’m thinking a top stitch vs traditional applique. What do you think?

      Like

  1. Lovely post, I also tried hexie making for the first time before my summer holidays. I was just experimenting, but it was a lot of fun. I will try to go back to those tutorials you mentioned, next time. Who knows maybe I will be sensible and get the hexie papers too! Would be a lot easier!

    Liked by 1 person

    • What did you do with your hexies? Yes, lots of fun and they’re so quick to make. My little station just sits on the coffee table and I quickly add to the collection one hexi at a time πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Love the fabrics you are using! You might as well go ahead and get more papers since you are doing such a great job and of course you are going to want to make more–it’s very addicting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! Yes, I’m already thinking of a scrappy, fussy cut, hexi quilt! I want to try the other shapes too πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I love hexagons! I am not a quilter. I have strip quilted in the past, but nothing fancy. I’ve not heard of making shapes like this before. The tutorial you linked looks wonderful and easy to follow. Your hexagons look so perfect! I can’t wait to see what you do with all of those gorgeous hexagons in all the beautiful colors and prints. The pinks are my favorite, but the others are beautiful as well.
    Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They are fun and quick to make. You can definitely just create one here and there and collect them over time if there’s no project in mind. The pink was definitely fun to photograph with our pink tea set πŸ™‚ I’ll be honest though…if I have more time on my hand to craft, I end up using it to quilt or cross-stitch ❀
      Do you think you'll give hexies a try?!

      Like

Leave a Reply

