TBT – Maple Leaf

Happy Thursday!

Last week, Penny Rose Fabric posted a tutorial for the Maple Leaf block. I haven’t had a chance to buy more fabric, but luckily I had enough for the maple leaf. I found the stem unit a bit challenging as I was having issues squaring it down to size. I think I need a better ruler, specifically for squaring up blocks…adding that to my supplies list 🙂

I did enjoy creating the stem itself though. After pressing the stirp in half, wrong sides together, you sew the raw edge down on the right side of a square, then press the folded side over and secure it down with a mini zig-zig stitch. I usually misjudge where the zig-zag is actually hitting, but this one turned out nicely.

maple leaf blockmaple leaf block detailFeaturing: Toy Box IV Bubbles Blue by Sara Morgan of Blue Hills Fabric and Elephants in Porcelain by Chloe’s Closet for Moda Fabrics.

One thought on “TBT – Maple Leaf

Leave a comment