Planning x and + Quilt

While at Quilt Con I kept an eye out for the Tokyo Train Ride bundle by Sarah Watts for Cotton and Steel and luckily I found ONE booth with only ONE bundle left! I love the small unique prints of animals and scenery; the colors are fantastic! I wasn’t sure what I would make with them, but I figured small cuts wouldn’t be an issue with these prints. I then stumbled across some amazing blocks on Pinterest called Japanese x and + blocks and I fell in love with the pattern! A perfect block for a perfect fabric bundle. I found tutorials on small blocks and big, then decided I would prefer a larger size, so I searched for 12″ finished blocks. This is the tutorial I found by Rebecca Lynne:

xand+block measurements
Click to visit the Japanese x and + Block Tutorial for 12.5″ blocks by Rebecca Lynne.

My plan is to mostly utilize Tokyo Train Ride in the “+” area and other fabric from my stash in the “x” and background areas. I also have a fat eighths bundle of Doe by Carolyn Friedlander for Robert Kaufman Fabrics, which compliments Tokyo Train Ride nicely. I will probably work on this project off and on, but I should get a good amount of blocks done these next few weeks to share with you through a series of mini image posts. I need to draw this out, but I’m thinking I’ll use the Tokyo Train Ride Panel in the middle, surrounding it by x and + blocks, reaching a size of 72″x72″ when finished. I may also need more fat quarters as I run out of my stash, which should be fun too 🙂

Fabric Bundles Project Fabric Tokyo Train Ride Bundle

4 thoughts on “Planning x and + Quilt

    • I think so too…I spent a good hour pairing the fabrics up to make 5 different blocks 🙂 Can’t wait to share them with you all!

      Like

Leave a Reply

