Coneflower Quilt Back

Exciting news…I’ve complete the backing for my Coneflower Quilt!

I was able to knock out the majority of it last weekend while Becky completed her quilt top, but I had run into a measuring error and was unable to complete it. I was so close too! Somehow I wrote down a larger measurement for the width needed and I therefore had run out of the backing material. Re-measured my quilt top, cut off a chunk from both sides of the pieced backing, and re-purposed it towards the top and bottom, lol….did any of that make sense? Either way, it worked, and it’s finished πŸ˜‰

My design started with my stash of Birch Fabrics Raccoon Acacia from the Scamper Collection. I had a 1/2 yard just waiting for the right project. Matched in color, and with oh-so-cute adorned raccoons, I decided to leave it whole as the centerpiece of the back. While at Quilt Con, I found a grey, non-directional fabric for the majority of the remaining space. It’s called Burnish Gray from Adornit Fabrics and it’s amazingly soft!

I went with a stripped piecing method to also highlight some scraps from the front including, Fishscale in Taupe by Dear Stella and Echinacea in Preppy by Anna Maria Horner for Free Spirit. They’re not huge pieces, but just enough to add some color and interest.

All I need now is the batting. Already found the quilting thread, a beautiful variegated green from Superior Threads. Can’t wait to get started on the quilting! I think I may use a stencil called Sashiko Stitch Grass. Stay tuned!Scamper RaccoonsQuilt back

The Pair :D
The Pair πŸ˜€
2 thoughts on “Coneflower Quilt Back

Leave a Reply

