TBT – Friendship Star

Happy Thursday!

Penny Rose skipped a week, so it’s been a while since I posted an update for Traditional Block Thursday. Their latest tutorial is the Friendship Star Block and has a great story behind it. I created half-square triangles again, which I didn’t have as good a turnout on them as I did with the Shoo-Fly block. I know where I messed up, but the amount of reproduction prints that I have on hand are precious to me. I only bought 6 fat quarters and I’m trying to utilize every cut of fabric 🙂

My error on making HST’s is trimming down to size without ensuring the diagonal seam is kept center. This resulted on one side being smaller than the other. See here on Penny Rose Fabrics tutorial, they use a diagonal line on the ruler to match up with the diagonal seam, then trim.

Penny Rose Fabrics Blog
Penny Rose Fabrics Blog

So from my block there are two areas where the star’s corners don’t meet. But I’m okay with that, lol. I learned from my mistake and thinking I can use this block as my quilt label. It would be a nice touch, especially with my name embroidered in the middle, as the women did in the Western Movement. Not sure what to expect for the final layout, but I can always make another Friendship Star for the front.

Before Trimming
Before Trimming

friendship block

friendship block 2Featuring: Storybook Playtime by Whistler Studios for Windham Fabrics and Once Upon A Story Book by Whistlers Studios for Windham Fabrics.

4 thoughts on “TBT – Friendship Star

  1. Been there, done that too. I also messed up by trimming to finished size once. Don’t know what I was thinking. I strive for perfection, but live comfortably with mistakes. Using the block for a label sounds like a good plan. BTW love the fabric.

    Liked by 1 person

    • haha, glad I’m not the only one! But now I know what to look at next time. I really love the fabric too…I can’t help getting all the animal prints. I need to try and get more floral and geometric designs when I buy more reproduction fabric. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

