TBT – Rail Fence

I stumbled across Penny Rose Fabrics Blog just as they had posted their new series of Traditional Block Thursday, or TBT. I’ve been eager to use 1930’s reproduction prints, but didn’t know what project to use them on…Traditional blocks sounded perfect for their display! If you decide to follow along, a block tutorial is posted every other Thursday. Their 3rd post will take place today, February 12th.

I’m a month behind as I just purchased a small array of reproduction prints, but was able to knock out the first block, Rail Fence, very quickly. I went a different route with my block and pre-cut my strips to 2″ x 6.5″ since I was working with Fat Quarters. The tutorial is working with 2″ x WOF strips sewn together, then trimmed into 6.5″ sections, which offers a quicker completion.

I really like how this block turned out! I used the busier print for the center seam and finished with the adorable kitty on phone for the outer strips. I’m not sure how many blocks will be part of the sampler quilt, but I’m pretty excited about the progress so far 🙂

TBT - Rail Fence

TBT - Rail FenceFeaturing: Toy Box IV Floral by Sara Morgan of Blue Hill Fabrics, Storybook Playtime by Whistler Studios for Windham Fabrics, Toy Box IV Bubbles Blue by Sara Morgan, and Aunt Grace In A Pickle by Judie Rothermel for Marcus Fabrics.

2 thoughts on “TBT – Rail Fence

Leave a Reply

