DIY Animal Plushies

For Christmas presents, I made my nieces stuffed animals. These were my first stuffed animals to sew and they were fun to make!

Back in November, this project was on my list of fabric to buy at the Houston International Quilt Show. I found these great fat quarters with glitter prints, from the Pearl Essence Collection by Maywood Studio.

The Stuffed Fabric Turtle by Make It Love It suggests 1 fat quarter for the body and scraps for the shell…but really, if you have large scrap pieces, you could get by with all scraps for this pattern. I had a big portion leftover from my green fat quarter 🙂 For the shell, I used brown scraps with a floral print.

IMG_3050

IMG_3037

The Pond Fishy Plushies by Christina McKinney was a bit more challenging. Take your time through this tutorial and re-read the directions before stitching the tail. I was able to get away with only needing 2 fat quarters for the large version. Orange for the body and blue for the tail and fins.

IMG_3048

The Whale Of A Time Plushie by Christina McKinney was a breeze to work through. Less pieces to cut out and straightforward sewing steps. I would recommend this tutorial for beginners or for  a super quick to make shower gift. The large version of this pattern still produced a relatively small whale ❤

IMG_3053

The underwater gang:

IMG_3055

 I really think the girls loved their stuffed animals. Yay!

One thought on “DIY Animal Plushies

Leave a Reply

