Gardening Apron

I can’t wait for Spring! I made this apron in the Fall and was only able to use it once so far. The pockets are deep enough to hold your gardening tools, seeds/bulbs, labels, pruners–anything! This Sewing 101: Gardening Apron tutorial from Design Sponge was easy to follow but I did come across an error. The pattern says a 1/2 yard of coordinating fabric for the pocket, but then directs to cut a 20″ x 20″ piece. A 1/2 yard is only 18″ so you will come up short on the pocket height. I didn’t notice this until I started cutting, but an FYI if you decide to use this pattern. You’ll see from my apron that the pocket height is still sufficient on my shorter version πŸ˜‰ IMG_2722 I used outdoor fabric, which is a heavier cotton weight, and found a perfect floral print in red and brown. The main body is a matching brick red solid. For the apron tie, I went with the longer version and the pattern suggests two 4″ strips pieced together. Use the same piecing method you would use on quilt binding to join the 4″ strips.

IMG_2726Β  IMG_2724

One thought on “Gardening Apron

Leave a Reply

