Forest Animal Baby Quilt

My husband knew I’d take any opportunity to make a quilt and suggested we make a baby quilt for his co-worker’s new granddaughter.  Born in the Fall, we thought a yellow, orange, and neutral brown color scheme would fit nicely.

From Craftsy, I selected this free Disappearing 9-Patch Baby Quilt pattern from Better off Thread. Fabric shopping was so much fun, we spent an hour or so picking out the perfect array of prints and solids; we needed 9 total. For the solids we went with grey, green/yellow, and orange. For the other six, we went with 3 forest animal prints, 2 chevron prints, and 1 floral print. We played around with the order, but I knew I wanted the main prints on the outer corners to avoid slicing them up. After cutting the 9-Patch we rearranged until we were satisfied with the perfect order and direction of prints.

A vintage floral print was used for most of the back, but we broke it up with a herringbone strip utilizing the scraps from the front material. I used the tutorial from this quilt to create my herringbone strip. For the quilting we decided on a diagonal straight-line on the overall quilt and in various small squares I free-motioned a fall acorn. As an added bonus, I added little fussy cut animals in random spots and raw edge appliqued them to the front.

The binding is my favorite part of the quilt! A grey fabric with little yellow, white, and orange hearts ❤

Another thing I really liked about this quilt pattern, was the size! So many baby quilts come out huge! This one will finish at a nice 40″ x 40″.

3 thoughts on “Forest Animal Baby Quilt

Leave a Reply

