April Showers Baby Quilt

My niece was born on April Fool’s Day and with that I decided on an April theme quilt. I found the perfect fabric line, April Showers by Bonnie and Camille for Moda Fabrics. Check out the April Shower Collection look book here! Cutest prints of falling umbrellas, rain drops, and spring flowers.IMG_2475

The pattern of choice, Snapshots from the Atkinson Designs Happy Hour pattern book, which is displayed on the front cover. The baby size pattern called for 7 fat-quarters and from the collection I utilized Raindrops in grey, Polka Dot in aqua, Umbrellas in grey, and May Flowers in cream.

IMG_2478

For the border and binding I used Moda Fabrics Grunge Basics Pool, which is mostly aqua with yellow “splotches” throughout. The back is a grey and white polka dot fabric paired with a nursery print that was perfectly April shower-inspired. For softness, I quilted with the stitch in the ditch method for the blocks and free motion vines along the borders. The corner blocks are adorned with a free motion floral motif.IMG_1848

The challenges I encountered with my quilting was fabric bunching when sewing around the block seams. I learned to hold the quilt more taught to avoid this, but I’m sure actually sewing within the seams would help! My border vines were not large enough and I would have preferred them to fill the space a little more than they did. I’ve recently discovered free motion quilting is easier for me with marked lines to follow.IMG_2468

All in all, this quilt was a breeze to work through and I enjoyed working with these bright, refreshing prints. A modern baby quilt for a sweet little girl.

IMG_2469

* I usually prefer photographing my quilts before washing but forgot on this one. I don’t pre-wash my fabrics, but always wash upon completion. So what you are seeing is the post-wash crinkle effect, which has its charm 😉

One thought on “April Showers Baby Quilt

Leave a Reply

