Cozy Critters Quilt

If you read my About page you’ll recognize the prints in this quilt! Inspired by Menagerie Onyx, Indian Summer Fabric by Sarah Watson for Art Gallery Fabrics. I love love love animals of all kinds! At our first International Quilt Festival in Houston last year, I spotted this navy and white print with little animals faces that I just had to have. My mom’s response, “Christina, what are you going to do with that!?”. I had no plan but knew it would find the perfect place in my next quilt. I had also purchased a pattern called Fickle Nickle Quilt No.2 that would display large rectangles and squares, perfect for large prints. I revised this 5 yard pattern to showcase Menagerie Onyx in the center of each block. img_1440-e1418004712459

Surrounding the cute little faces I used Squirrel Run and Quail Run from the Camp Sur Collection by Jay-Cyn Designs for Birch Fabrics. I loved the bold colors of yellow and orange and the feel of these organic fabrics are amazing. Unfortunately these may be discontinued, but I still spot them for sale on various fabric sites. Grab them while they last!

The outer rectangles of the blocks are Dear Stella designs. The Feathers in cream, Quint Floral in cream, and Autumn Stripe in cream, all bold in print were still different enough to outline their place in this quilt. The Feathers and Autumn Stripe I grabbed from my stash and the Quint Floral I ordered online in the process of finding all the right fabrics.

The only fabrics I can not name is the middle geometric print in brown, a Japanese import,  that I paired with Autumn Stripe and the Japanese-inspired print on the back. If anyone recognizes them, please leave us a line and share the info 🙂

The binding aIMG_1435nd most of the back is the Wood Grain in Bark from Lush by Erin Michael for Moda Fabrics. This was just the right fabric I had in mind for the vintage feel of this quilt. You can still find this wood grain print on Amazon! The Japanese-inspired print is non-directional and the repeat is short. It paired nicely with the wood grain and also picked up on the golden yellow notes throughout the front. The large gold floral on the back of the quilt is Lotus by Timeless Treasures Fabrics, Inc. A touch of soft feminine floral motifs completed this quilt.

img_1789-e1418007985702I drafted the back of this quilt starting with the wood grain print fabric, knowing that I wanted to utilize the entire width, selvedge to selvedge. That left the right strip. The Lotus fabric, a fat quarter, divided the busy Japanese-inspired print which I cut down to match the remaining top and bottom portions to complete the strip. For quilting, stitch in the ditch was the method I chose to really let the prints pop! It’s also my opinion, the less over-all quilting, the more soft it is ❤

I have this quilt laying on my living room couch. It’s currently my most used blanket, soft and warm, but also makes me smile when I see those faces staring back.

img_1788-e1418009052165

img_1783-e1418009144262 img_1441-e1418916278942

2 thoughts on “Cozy Critters Quilt

Leave a Reply

